Pro Futura


Pro Futura is a post-doctoral programme for leading research providing particularly promising young researchers with an extended period of financing for independent research. The programme is a collaborative effort with SCAS (The Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study), one of Europe's leading institutes for advanced studies.

The design of the Pro Futura programme has varied throughout the years. During some years, the programme has also included periods for research in international environments, organised by STINT. During other years, the researchers have been provided the possibility to apply for an additional period of three years, during which time the position is then expected to establish a tenure-track employment.

In the past few years, a total of 32 researchers have been admitted after a national nomination and selection procedure. They are given scope for carrying out five to seven years' research under highly favourable conditions. These researchers spend a year at SCAS and at least one year abroad, at one of the internationally leading institutes for advanced study or equivalent cutting-edge research environments.

The researchers who complete the programme successfully are offered permanent posts at the universities that nominated them. In the past few years, the programme has continuously developed. Part of this development has involved the introduction of new grants for researcher mobility and international collaboration. Besides Swedish universities, leading universities in Denmark, Estonia, Finland and Norway are now invited to nominate researchers.

If a university nominates three people, at least one nominee must be working at and possess a PhD from an HEI other than the institution that proposed him or her; if it nominates four, atleast one must be working at a university outside Sweden and have a non-Swedish doctorate.

Pro Futura Fellows 1999 - 2015

Renaud Gagné, Faculty of Classics, Pembroke College, University of Cambridge
Joel Isaac, Faculty of History, Christ's College, University of Cambridge
Andreas Stokke, Department of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, Umeå University.

Angela Breitenbach, Faculty of Philosophy, King's College, University of Cambridge
Elise Dermineur, Department of History, Lund University.
Meelis Friedenthal, Faculty of Theology and Department of History, University of Tartu
Stephanie Wynne-Jones, Dep. of Archaeology, University of York. 

Elizabeth Coppock, Linguistics, University of Gothenburg
Rodney Edvinsson, Economic History, Stockholm University
Virginia Langum, Middle English literature, pastoralia, sermons, medieval medicine and technology, Umeå University
Maarten van Zalk, Psychology, Örebro University

Paula Henrikson, General Literary Studies, Uppsala University
Jonas Olofsson, Psychology, Stockholm University
Pärtel Piirimäe, History, University of Tartu

Anandi Hattiangadi, Philosophy, Stockholm University
Petter Johansson, Cognitive Science, Lund University
Kristin Zeiler, Ethics with a Focus on Medical Ethics, Linköping University
Johan Östling, History, Lund University

Ali Ahmed, Applied Microeconomics, Linköping University
Ericka Johnson, Technology and Social Change, Linköping University
Wendelin Reich, Social Psychology, Uppsala University

Peter Hallberg, Global Political Studies, Malmö University
Magdalena Bexell, Political science, Lund University
Eva Erman, Political science, Uppsala University

Gustaf Arrhenius, Philosophy, Stockholm University
Maria Johansen, History of ideas and learning, University of Gothenburg
Staffan Kumlin, Political Science, University of Gothenburg
Ingela Nilsson, Byzantine studies, Uppsala University
Christer Nordlund, History of ideas, Umeå University
Patrik Ström, Economic geography, University of Gothenburg
Annika Wallin, Cognitive science, Lund University

Christofer Edling (Sociology, Stockholm University)
Lena Halldenius (Philosophy, Lund University)
Coco Norén (Romantic languages, Uppsala University)

Sara Danius (Literature, Uppsala University)
Mikael Nordenmark (Sociology, Umeå University)
Mats Rosengren (History of ideas, University of Gothenburg)
Ola Sigurdson (Theology, University of Gothenburg)
Sia Spiliopoulou Åkermark (Law, Uppsala University)