Graduate Schools


Since the 2000 decision by the Swedish Riksdag that graduate education is the responsibility of the State, RJ no longer supports graduate schools in the way the foundation had previously done.

At the beginning of the 1990s, the State focused on graduate schools in the form of shorter thematic doctoral courses within postgraduate education. Later, the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF) focused on full-scale graduate schools, that is, support for entire doctoral programmes. From early 1995, Riksbankens Jubileumsfond awarded grants largely aimed at supporting doctoral students; in practice, this was a type of thematic graduate school.

During the period 1998–2001, RJ decided to allocate funds to four major graduate schools: the graduate school in modern languages(1999); the following year the graduate school in mathematics with didactics; in 2001, RJ and STINT started the Swedish School of Advanced Asia Pacific Studies (SSAAPS); and the following year, the Nordic Museum's graduate school for museum staff.

With the decision of the Riksdag in 2000 that doctoral education is the responsibility of the State, RJ's Board of Directors decided to no longer allocate funds to graduate schools or to support doctoral students in their education in any way.