Humboldt Scholarships


Since 1989, RJ has had an agreement on guest researcher exchanges with the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Bonn. The scholarships will not be announced 2022.

The cooperation is organised through the Swedish-German Programme Research Awards for Scientific Cooperation programme.

Once a year, the Humboldt Scholarship is announced, when vice-chancellors at Swedish higher education institutions are asked to nominate candidates for the scholarship. The agreement means that RJ pays for a longer stay (4–12 months) with a tax-free scholarship for a distinguished German researcher at a research institution in Sweden. The scholarship is calculated to cover any lost salary benefits, travel and living expenses and similar for the intended period. The Humboldt Foundation correspondingly pays for a prominent Swedish scholar's stay in Germany.

Scholarship holders (2018-2020)

Beate Krickel
, Technische Universität Berlin, will be a guest at the Philosophy Department, Uppsala University.
Peter Auer, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität i Freiburg, will be a guest at the Department of Swedish Language and Multilingualism, Stockholm University

Johannes Müller, Pre- and Protohistory Archaeology, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, will be a guest at University of Gothenburg .
Martin Karlsson, Economics, University of Duisburg-Essen, will be a guest at School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg.

Mariacarla Gadebusch Bondio, History of Medicine, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn will be a guest at Uppsala University.
John Bateman, Applied Linguistics, Universität Bremen will be a guest at Örebro University.